So next, BMW K75 RT Cafe Racer project

So, after my brief dalliance with the K1100RS I decided to go after the ultimate touring version of the Flying Brick – the BMW K75 RT.

I considered the BMW K100, but having felt the vibes on the BMW K1100 decided the 3 cylinder was the better option. I’d briefly ridden the BMW K75 in Dubai when my mad and wonderful friend Jose let me have a go on his which he’d ridden from Spain to Dubai – but that’s a whole other story!

WP_20170506_21_18_03_Pro

So, to eBay again and this time I find a BMW K75 RT in a kind of faded Orange. £850 – bargain!

50k miles, serviced and all in one piece though needing some TLC.

IMG_20170805_125115

I use service in the UK called Shiply – which gets delivery quotes from independent Van drivers. Funny thing was, the same team that moved the BMW K1100RS turned up to deliver the BMW K75 RT. Nice!

Anyhow, taxed, insured and cleaned I took it out for a spin and got to work on it.

Initial impressions – good, pulls 80 MPH, smooth, big fairing though which tends to divorce you from the road, you can’t even see the front wheel. While this is great from a wind point of view it tends to feel a bit car like.

The riding position though is much more upright to the RS and feels much more comfortable for long journeys.

IMG_20170809_170202

So, great bike and great project. Within hours though it overbalanced me and I’d dropped it! Which broke the footpeg and stopped the fun. The fairing had to come off.

IMG_20170805_185017

So, I set to work on removing and ditching the fairing and turning it into a more upright, naked BMW K75.

IMG_20170811_153419

Much more like it – a Bike is born.

Just need a headlight and indicators and it’ll be back on the road – little did I know!

Leave a comment