So I got me a BMW K1100RS, then promptly sold it!

So I wanted a Bike I could use when I was in the UK and wanted to go down the alternative Brick series route.

Long story short – I did some research and looked at K Bikes.

I settled on a K1100 RS and found on eBay, bought it, shipped it and insured it then rode it up into the Cheshire / Derbyshire hills up to the Cat and Fiddle and Back.

Here it is..

WP_20170609_16_26_56_Rich

Great Bike – ABS, modern tech, fairing, Gold wheels and Panniers. All for £1,100 what’s not to like?

Well – the position, that was the only thing. I gave it a good clean, stripped the front and rear LED lights that were fitted and got a new number plate made for it.

Then took it for a good spin. The idea being to use this on an European Road trip. Result. Well while it would undoubtedly soak up the Motorway and Autobahns I found it just a bit too forward and sporty for me. The bars just a bit too low for a long touring bike.

So rather than messing around, swopping bars, cables etc I decided to sell and find a more upright version.

IMG-20170512-WA0008

So that’s what I did. I decided to look for an RT – and also seek out the 3 cylinder smoother K75 version… Great bike and lots of fun though.

Leave a comment