R65 Oil Filter Shim – £2,000 mistake?

I lost sleep over this, so thought it worth a post, at least to point you at the importance of it for the Boxer R65 Engine..

You may know if you’ve been following any of the articles here that my R65 threw it’s bottom end out after 5 years of sterling service and a relocation to Dubai and back.

You can read about the Engine swop here – So, what next – strip it down, that’s what

and the Trip to Dubai and back here – How do you get a Motorbike Road Legal in Dubai?

Anyhow, I never did really figure out why the Engine died… so I woke in a cold sweat this week after remembering that a Shim in the Oil Filter change could if not completed lead to a £2,000 Engine replacement…

Several articles and research online and I found this – “The $2000 O-ring”.

and this… which shows the breakdown in question

Oil Shim and O Ring Filter

In a nutshell if you don’t fit the Shim and O ring correctly you risk losing your Engine through low Oil pressure…

So I took mine out last night and was relieved to find it all good… Ok rest easy.

Leave a comment