Racks and Panniers R65

So after a while thinking about how to get more usage out of the R65 I got to wondering how I could add Racks and Panniers to the machine.

Event though I’ve shortened the Rear Frame I wondered if I could add Racks and get some Canvas like Panniers or similar to accomodate the odd shopping run or who knows even a night away at the TT with a Toothbrush and a change of clothes.. probable use case would only ever be 2 nights I’d guess.

My original side Canvas Bag – French Army for those interested – had come in useful quite a few times but didn’t have much capacity – added a great aesthetic though.

Side Bag

A while back, maybe 6 months, I also found a Rear rack from an MZ I think, which I hacked about by shortening it and finding a way to attach it to the frame… It allowed me to hide the rear of the seat and gave me space for a small tool bag.

BMW Rack v McQueen Triumph

Partly this was picking up the Great Escape look, which has always given me inspiration for the Bike. But this hasn’t really been pressed into action, and was more for looks than purpose…

Anyhow, eBay intervened and I sourced a full Pannier OEM BMW Rack for £50 and this weekend took to seeing if it fitted… It did – et voila. First I sanded and applied a couple of coats of Hammerite Satin Black from a Can, waited for it to dry then offered it up.

 

These bolt on to both the Shock Absorber Mount – inside the frame and the frame at the foot hanger with a 10mm bolt… the missing link from my shortened rear section was the rear frame which sat out and away – so I’ve bolted it together. It seems fairly strong with the 2 point fixing and warranted a change of number plate position.

I’ve not figured the number plate lighting as yet and have a couple of cheap Canvas Panniers en-route to see how it might work in practice…

I do think that the Rack adds both to the length and military vibe of the machine and suits it rather well… If anything it’s looking more Army for the addition and should come in useful. More soon on the final practicality on a Cafe Scrambler but should be good.

IMG_20200531_153858904_HDR

Leave a comment